It is important to mention that this is a good profession for observing. You can even start your HVAC business, but first, you should study. Different organizations will help you with this. Studying is important, but so is the practice. Observe the field and the competitors. This is an important step if you want to succeed. But first, you must get a license.
So read below and learn how you can get an HVAC license in Colorado. As the law differs from state to state, you must follow the rules of the state.
If you want to become an HVAC master, there are two fields that you can choose from. You can receive a license for an electrician or a plumber. There are different HVAC licenses. You can apply and work in the field. The plumbing and electrician licenses are required at the state level.
You can apply for the following licenses if you want to work as a master.
And you can apply for the following licenses if you want to work as a plumber.
You should find the best HVAC school if you want to get an HVAC license in Colorado. The school will help you a lot during the process. Besides, these schools train students and prepare them for the upcoming tests. So take relevant courses that will qualify your certification.
If you want to get a license for a residential wireman, you must pass some stages. Perform the following steps and be sure that you will get a positive result. So at first, you must have on-the-job training for about 4000 hours.
You can collect the required hours by getting an apprenticeship. After that, you must have an apprentice license. You will need to get an apprenticeship by working under the supervision of an HVAC expert. An apprenticeship allows you to work and earn money at the same time.
You will need to pass the required examination about electrical calculations, cables, grounding. Having theoretical knowledge is, of course, important, but HVAC is a practical area. So it is very important to master the skills before you pass to the work. PSI is the organization that administers the HVAC licensing process in Colorado.
If you want to get a license as a master electrician, you must have 4000 hours of on-the-job training in the area. Besides, you must have an apprentice license. You also must pass the required examination about different equipment, boxes, and raceways.
For a journeyman electrician license, you must have training for about 2000 hours. Besides, you must have an apprentice license. You must also pass the required examination covering topics about photovoltaics or motors.
For a residential plumber’s license, you must have on-the-job training for about 3400 hours. You must also pass the required examination about water heaters or sanitary systems.
If you want to become a master plumber, you must have on-the-job training for about 8500 hours. You must pass the required examination about residential fire sprinklers, piping support, etc.
You must have on-the-job training about 6800 hours for journeyman plumber’s qualification. And you must also pass the required examination about storm drainage systems, etc.
Most states in the United States of America demand HVAC licenses operate in the field. But Colorado is on the list of the states that don’t demand any. And though it doesn’t demand an HVAC license, it is possible to get one. And it is considered an advantage over other applicants while applying for a job.
The cost varies depending on the license you want to apply for. For example, the license designed for a wireman or journeyman electrician costs $175. This cost includes a $100 fee for the license and a $75 fee for the examination.
The license that is designed for a master electrician costs $140. There is an examination that you must pass that costs $75.
The cost for the plumber’s license varies. The application fee for the residential plumber is $175. This covers both the application fee and the exam.
You must pay $195 for a journeyman plumber’s license. And if you want to apply for a master’s plumber license, you must pay $215.